

RM of Oakview Meeting Minutes Special Meeting June 29, 2023 - 07:00 PM

PRESENT:
<u>REEVE</u>: Robert Christie
<u>COUNCILLORS</u>: Mark Gill, Lloyd Evans, Marie Andrew, Frank Hyndman, Bill Aaroe and Gavin Reynolds
<u>C.A.O.</u>: Marci Quane
<u>MUNICIPAL STAFF</u>: Bonnie Wright, Donna Anderson, Korrena Bethinger and Kristina Walker
<u>PANEL MEMBERS</u>: Brett Ransom, Stantec, Glen Nicholson, Stantec and Dee Genaille, Water Services Board

PUBLIC IN ATTENDANCE: El Haslen, Trish Haslen, Yool Sharp, Sheila Sharp, Cathy Price, Ruth Wilson, William Wilson, Nathan Switzer, Rob Brown, Kirk Bridgeman, Mike Matwyshyn, Jean Harrower, Renno Fleury, Peter Schueler, Michelle Anderson, Jasmine MacDonald, David MacDonald, Betty A. Bertrand, Doug Finlay, Ian Christie, Sharon Finlay, Doreen Kolesar, Terry Kolesar, Joyce Ferguson, Rob Adams, Jim Taylor, Orest Woloski, Hugh Weitman, Bryan Hill, Ruth Paul, Ernie Paul, Bob Blad, Daryl Andrew, Stephen van der Wal, Dianne van der Wal, Glenn Dyck, Diana Dyck, Dillon Saunders, Victoria Rose, Randy Brown, Reece Phillip, Joseph Wiggins, Faye Cornish, Shelley Meakin, Rapid City Community Church, Glenda Higgins, John Higgins, Mike Sacharko, Robin Lawson, Bev Dixon, Pat Dixon, Sharon Hyndman, Linwood Williams, Lisa Ballegeer, Mike Harder, Darcy Robins, Karleigh Paul, Trevor Kitson, Irene McFarlin, Ken McFarlin, Steve Buytendorp, Stacy Yeomans, Mark Yeomans, Sarah Schwartz, Elissa Crompton, Bill Wiggins, Dean Erlendson, Denise Erlendson, Wayne Braun, Deb Braun, Shayne Kolesar, Jen Kolesar, Doug Trainer, Brenda Gerrard, Wallace Anderson, Don Bell, Dennis Sinclair, Denis Rondeau, Dale Senkbeil, Coby Senkbeil, Roy Gulka, Diana Dyck, James Paul, Christine Rose, Shawn Rose, Doug Luce, Glen Bell, Tom Low

Reeve Robert Christie presiding.

	1	Called To Order
		The meeting was called to order by Reeve Christie at 9:00 a.m.
Resolution No: 214/23	2	Adoption of Agenda Moved By: Bill Aaroe Seconded By: Mark Gill
		That the agenda for June 29th, 2023 be adopted as presented.
		CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY
	3	Public Hearing - Water Main Renewals within the LUD of Rapid City By-Law 2023-5
Resolution No: 215/23	3.1	OPEN- Public Hearing - Water Main Renewals within the LUD of Rapid City Local Improvement District By-Law 2023-5 7:00pm Moved By: Frank Hyndman Seconded By: Lloyd Evans
		Be it resolved that the regular meeting now adjourn to reconvene after the Public Hearing; Further be it resolved we do hereby open the public hearing regarding Water Main Renewals within the LUD of Rapid City Local Improvement District By-Law 2023-5.
		CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY
	3.2	Water Main Renewals within the LUD of Rapid City Local Improvement District By-Law 2023-5 Presentation

3.3 Public Hearing Notes

Eighty-seven (87) people were in attendance for the Public Hearing. This represents seventy-six (76) persons in the Local Improvement Plan area with eleven (11) persons from outside the Local Improvement Area. A total of thirty-seven (37) properties had registered representation.

A presentation regarding the proposed local improvement was presented by Marci Quane, CAO.

Reeve Christie opened the meeting for a Question and Answer Period.

Questions were received from: Rob Brown, Sharon Finlay, Randy Brown, Roy Gulka, Elissa Crompton, Lisa Ballageer, Joseph Wiggins, Bob Blad, Bob Blad presented a petition to the Chair, Karleigh Paul, Renno Fleury, Nathan Switzer, Dale Senkbeil, Tom Low, Jean Harrower, Mike Matwyshyn and Randy Brown.

At the conclusion of the Q&A session the Chair asked those who wished to speak in opposition and in favour of the proposal to come forward.

Hugh Weitman - spoke in position Stacey Omens - spoke in position Roy Gulka - spoke in position James Paul - spoke in support Renno Fleury - spoke in support Karleigh Paul - spoke in support Bob Blad - spoke in opposition Dillon Saunders - spoke in position Trish Haslen - spoke in position Faye Cornish - spoke in support Orest Woloski - spoke in support Jessica Grant - spoke in support Steve van der Wal - spoke in support Michelle Anderson - spoke in support Shelley Meakin - spoke in support Wallace Anderson - spoke in support William Wilson - spoke in support Ian Christie - spoke in support Nathan Switzer - spoke in support Lisa Ballegeer - spoke in support Mike Matwyshyn - spoke in position Mike Sacharko - spoke in support Christine Rose - spoke in support Shawn Rose - spoke in support

Donna Anderson read the letters received in opposition and support from:

Letters of Objection were received from - Kayla Brown, Brad Simpson, Grant & Cora LaPierre, Rob Adams, Doreen & Terry Kolesar. Letter of Support was received from Daryl Andrew.

Resolution No:3.4CLOSE - Water Main Renewals within the LUD of Rapid City Local216/23Improvement District By-Law 2023-5Moved By: Gavin ReynoldsSeconded By: Bill Aaroe

Be it resolved that Council, having completed its duties at the Public Hearing to hear public presentations in respect to Local Improvement By-Law 2023-5, do now close the hearing and reconvene to the special meeting of council.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

	4	Bylaws
Resolution No: 217/23	4.1	By-Law 2023-5 Water Main Renewals within the LUD of Rapid City Local Improvement District - First Reading Moved By: Frank Hyndman Seconded By: Marie Andrew
		Therefore be it resolved that Council give first reading to By-Law 2023-5 being a By-Law to authorize the Expenditure and Borrowing of money for water main renewals within the LUD of Rapid City as a Local Improvement.
		CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY
Resolution No: 218/23	5	Adjournment Moved By: Lloyd Evans Seconded By: Gavin Reynolds
		That the Council of the R. M. of Oakview do now adjourn to meet again on July 11th, 2023 at 7:30 p.m. in Oak River or at the Call of the Chair.
		CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY
		Adjournment time: 8:42 p.m.

REEVE

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER